Banner Img

Houston Criminal Lawyer
experienced, aggressive representation

 

DWI Penalties

Houston Driving While Intoxicated Lawyer – Shahin Zamir

A driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge in the state of Texas should be handled with care. Even the stain of a first DWI conviction can have serious repercussions when seeking access to desirable jobs, affordable insurance and other opportunities. Only a knowledgeable Houston area DWI lawyer is prepared to help a defendant avoid the imposition of severe DWI penalties.

Contact Shahin Zamir at 713-223-8900.

Texas DWI Charges

A DWI attorney knows the laws and legal procedures associated with a DWI charge. The police must first have probable cause before conducting a traffic stop on the suspicion of driving after using drugs or alcohol. Police officers are trained to watch for unusual driving patterns, such as speeding, swerving from lane to lane, driving too slowly or ignoring traffic signals. The presence of any of the following conditions could lead to a DWI arrest:

  • An admission by the driver that they are under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • Failure of a field sobriety test
  • The police officer notices an open container of alcohol

In the state of Texas, if the prosecuting attorney and arresting officer can prove that any of the following circumstances existed at the time of arrest, a DWI conviction may ensue:

  • Operation of a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least .08 percent
  • Driving while physically or mentally impaired by alcohol or drugs

Drinking and Driving Consequences

Requiring the prosecuting attorney to prove a DWI charge beyond any reasonable doubt is the vital role of a Houston DWI lawyer. Every effort should be made to avoid the drinking and driving penalties described below:

  • A first DWI conviction is a Class B misdemeanor. The court can impose drunk driving penalties of no more than six months in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. The prosecutor can enhance the DWI charge if a minor child was in the vehicle or DWI assault occurred. A DWI assault conviction can result in a sentence of no more than 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
  • A second DWI conviction will result in a Class A misdemeanor. The maximum drunk driving punishments are one year in jail and a $4,000 fine.
  • Being convicted of a third DWI charge is a third-degree felony. The maximum DWI consequences are 10 years in state prison and a $10,000 fine.

A sentence of probation for a second or third DWI conviction could still result in a jail sentence. The judge can also impose civil DWI punishments if the DWI occurred within 10 years of a previous DWI conviction.

Hire a DWI Defense Lawyer in Houston, TX

A DWI defendant should waste little time contacting a Houston area criminal defense attorney. Not only is Shahin Zamir a native Houstonian, he is also a highly regarded DWI lawyer.

To schedule a complimentary consultation with Shahin Zamir, call 713-223-8900.