Why You Need a Houston Felony Charges Lawyer
Committing a crime in the Houston area can come with varying charges, penalties, and sentencing. You won’t know what to expect until an actual charge is levied against you. Crimes are divided into two main categories: misdemeanors and felonies. Felonies come with serious penalties and sentences. You should never attempt to defend yourself when charged with a felony, that’s why you need a Houston felony charges lawyer.
Houston Felony Charges Lawyer
A Houston felony charges lawyer knows the court system in the state, has dealt with the prosecutors on a regular basis, and understands the criminal code. He will be able to meet the filing deadlines of your case, speak with law enforcement officials, and talk to witnesses in an effort to build a defense for your case.
There are five types of felonies in the state of Texas. We have listed them below in order of most severe to least severe.
- Capital Felony: This charge is levied for crimes involving murder of a police officer, paying to have someone killed, accepting money to kill someone, terrorism, and premeditated murder.
- First-Degree Felony: This includes crimes of unplanned murders, kidnapping, and aggravated robbery.
- Second-Degree Felony: This includes crimes of burglary without or with a weapon, armed robbery, fleeing a murder scene, and bribery.
- Third-Degree Felony: This includes crimes of driving under the influence for a third time, aggravated perjury, or jumping bond for an assault charge.
- State Jail Felony: This includes stealing property worth no more than $200,000, driving under the influence with a child in the vehicle, and negligent homicide.
The penalties for these felonies in Texas are as follows:
- Capital Felony: Death by lethal injection or life in prison.
- First-Degree Felony: Five to 99 years in jail and no more than $10,000 in fines.
- Second-Degree Felony: No more than 20 years in jail and no more than $10,000 in fines.
- Third-Degree Felony: No more than 10 years in jail and no more than $10,000 in fines.
- State Jail Felony: No more than two years in a Texas state jail, no parole, and no more than $10,000 in fines.
Contact an experienced Houston felony charges lawyer today to begin defense of your case.